Women in Emerging Aviation Technologies – Executive Council
Wednesday March 6, 2024

1:00 pm EST / 12:00 pm CST / 11:00 am MT / 10:00 am PT

Sign up

Guest Speakers: 

Jennifer Richter, Head of the TMT Practice
Virginia Hiner Antypas, Counsel
Nicole McFarland, Associate
Sharanya Sriram, Associate

U.S. lawmakers and regulators are increasingly focused on threats posed by foreign drones and have recently ramped up efforts to curtail their use. Last December, President Biden signed into law the National Defense Authorization Act for Fiscal Year 2024 (NDAA), a voluminous defense spending bill that includes provisions prohibiting the procurement and use by federal agencies of drones manufactured or assembled in certain countries – including China and Russia.

The House of Representatives has also established a “Select Committee” to investigate perceived economic, military, technological, and national security challenges presented by China, including through the use of drones. On the regulatory side, the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) has already taken action to ban equipment authorizations for items manufactured by certain Chinese firms, and is continuing to explore new ways to expand those prohibitions. In light of these developments, it is more critical than ever for industry players to stay apprised of legislative and regulatory updates in this space.

Audience members can expect to walk away from this presentation with a firm understanding of the current legal and regulatory landscape governing the use of foreign drones, as well as a preview of what to expect in 2024.

X